Grammar Girl on Active and Passive Voice

8 Sep

Topic of Week (2) COMM 4333-Grammar Girl on Active and Passive Voice.  

Is it just me or are there others out there who struggle with the concept of Active and Passive voice? I have to admit sometimes I get so confused when it comes to the structure, when to use which, and the differences between active and passive voice. So I sought out Grammar Girl, hoping she would give me some insight to put a stop to this continual confusion. 

Passive

  1. What did I learn

  I learned so much from this lesson. (That was active voice). The information was presented simply and in a clear way that was easy for me to understand. I like how real life examples were used to portray the different voices. For example, Marvin Gaye’s song “I heard it through the Grapevine” for an active example and Nixon’s “mistakes were made” when referring to a “scandal”.  

            I also found it very interesting that different educational groups understand the voices differently. I had no idea that less-educated people have a harder time understanding passive voice.  

2. What surprised me?  

I was surprised about all the different areas of writing that passive voice can be appropriate. I had never realized before that passive voice was often used in crime reports, fictional writings, obscure political speeches, and sometime scientific writings. 

Active

3. I want more. 

I would like to learn more about turning passive voice into active voice. Grammar Girl stated that changing passive into active could “tighten your writing” and I would like to explore that skill more.

Leave a Reply

