Blog Comments

8 Sep

Comment:

Carnival Cruise Crisis- Rachel LaFlam

http://rmlaflam.wordpress.com/2010/11/16/carnival-cruise-crisis/

November 18, 2010

Stuff happens. That’s all I have to say. October I don’t like the fact that apparently all they gave people were Spam and pop tarts. People with food allergies would have been in trouble. I can’t even imagine the havoc and stress that people and workers must have felt on that trip. I’m sure it was craziness. As far as an apology goes, customers should be happy to be receiving compensations that they are. What exactly do these people consider a “sincere” apology? Corporations have to be careful in apologies because they can be sued and I’m sure they might be facing lawsuits as we speak and a sincere, over the top apology could be enough to solidify the arguments of the lawsuits.

 Comment:

When Disaster Strikes- Danielle Moceri

http://dcmoceri.wordpress.com/2010/11/13/when-disaster-strikes/

 So I guess the PR department had a strategy of not focusing on the crisis. But was it overall a good thing? In my opinion crisis control does not equal not focusing on the crisis. I know personally that I was frustrated with the oil spill and how long it took to “take care of it”. I heard that there were actually 2 oil spills going on at the same time but BP did not relieve it. But when media found out they were all over it. Deception? How does that make you feel?

 Comment:

Disney Pixar & Another Sequel- Amber Sakis

http://amsakis.wordpress.com/2010/11/17/disney-pixar-another-sequel/

Yes! I have to say that I was really impressed with Toy Story 3. I heard many people even admit that it was their favorite, as in they liked it more than the classic original! I loved the movie Cars and I’m excited for the sequel. I hope they Pixar will be able to pull off another successful sequel but we’ll see. I’m skeptical about sequels because I’ve seen so many sequels that were flops. I’ll probably wait when it comes out and see what others say about it before I go and see it. Is it worth the box office price or wait to rent it on DVD. I guess we’ll see.   

Comment:

Southeastern Petition Letter- Andrea Adkins

http://aladkins.wordpress.com/2010/11/16/southeastern-petition-letter/

November 17, 2010

This is crazy! I couldn’t believe it when I read that e-mail. Graduating is such a big deal for students. I agree with you in that there should not be a limit on the number of people that can come and celebrate this accomplishment.

Well good for students and others speaking up and starting a petition. Just with the way things have been running lately, part of my wonders if the petitions, phone calls will even do anything. All I’m saying is that it isn’t right after students have spent so much to attend this school and they can’t have everyone they want to at their graduation.

Comment:

Limewire to be Shutdown- Chad Ainsworth

http://chainsworth.wordpress.com/2010/10/29/limewire-to-be-shut-down/

November 17, 2010

I’m actually kind of glad that the music industry finally one this battle. It is hard enough for many musicians out there today and sites like Limewire just hurt their success even more. I’m sure a lot of people are upset about this! I know tons of people who use it. That being said I think sites like Limewire and Frostwire are always going to be around. Is Limewire/Frostwire 100% dirty business or does it give the music industry and ITunes from becoming a solidified monopoly?

Comment:

Jessica@facebook.com- Jessica Nguyen

http://jessicapr.wordpress.com/2010/11/17/jessicafacebook-com/

November 17, 2010

I am so excited about this new Facebook messaging thing. I think it is going to be so cool and possibly take social networking to the next level. It seems like it will help people stay connected and organized no matter what format of communication they are using. I have heard many people saying that this move by Facebook will be the end of E-mail but I don’t think so. I think it will take a lot for that to happen. For me personally I see Facebook as more of a social thing and use e-mail for my professional interaction. But we will see that happens. I can’t wait to try it!

Comment:

A Toast to Four Loko-Andrea Adkins

http://aladkins.wordpress.com/2010/11/15/four-lokos-all-coming-down/

November 17, 2010

An alcohol and caffeine combination, how crazy can people get. Honestly I don’t think people are 100% aware of the effects alcohol and caffeine have on their bodies separately not to mention combined! So two people died from it? Part of me wonders how much alcohol these people consumed all together. People suffer from alcohol poisoning all the time (outside of Four Loko). Is the product officially off the shelf?

Comment:

 Live It Up- Melanie Shoults

http://mshoults.wordpress.com/2010/11/15/live-it-up/

November 17, 2010

I think it is so cool that our school’s Communication department did this. I remember students talking about being extras for the video, what a cool experience. I agree it is great publicity for Southeastern and shows that the student have the ability and skills to film and develop something like this. What a cool project to have been able to work on.

Comment:

Dashboard Confession- Jenifer Molitor

http://jemolitor.wordpress.com/2010/11/11/dashboard-confessions/

November 16, 2010

First off I’d like to say that the title of this post is creative. Great word play with the use of the WordPress term “dashboard” and the band “Dashboard Confessional”. I guess it makes sense that your Interview with Eden Gordon has had significant activity. Like you said it is more of a human relations related post but perhaps people came across it when they were searching for information on her. Well, I hope your stats skyrocket! Ha.

 Comment:

A Look Into Tara’s World-Mikelle Liette

http://relating2thepublic.wordpress.com/2010/11/15/a-look-into-taras-world/

November 16, 2010

Hey Mikelle, Good job using the different text color to highlight what is written by you and what is written by Tara. It helped add to the clear transition from her words to yours. I agree with Tara blog comments are important! (I’m doing it right now, ha.) It makes me feel like people are actually paying attention/ listening to what I may have to say. One thing I could probably work on is commenting back to people who have commented. I think I’ve only done that once. Comments help users be even more interactive. Well I hope this comment met all the requirements of proper “blogging etiquette”.

Comment

Incorporate Media in Your Proposal- Sam Mooty

http://sammooty.wordpress.com/2010/11/10/incorporate-media-in-your-propsal/

November 15, 2010

Wow this was so cool! it amazing all that technology can do. I mean I felt I was watching like a spy movie or something. This was definitely a creative way of proposing. I’m not going to lie I don’t know if I would have thrown the ring up to her. What if she didn’t catch it or he didn’t make the toss. That would have killed it. But she seemed to love it and that’s all that really matters. And they’ll have this video of the creative proposal for the rest of their life together.

 Comment:

Your Trip To China Begins Here…-Sarah Hassani

http://sarahrosehassani.wordpress.com/2010/11/09/your-trip-to-china-begins-here/

November 15, 2010

This was such a fun activity that we did in class. I really enjoyed learning about all the different countries and there customs. I feel like China is an important one to know about. We are pretty involved with that country as far as businesses and finances are concerned. Their culture is so different than ours in some way. Silence not being a bad thing and the number four being bad is not the same as in the States. I think it is cool that so many cultures are different. We owe them the respect of learning the Do’s and Don’ts of other cultures.

Comment:

More blog hits, pleeeease!-Rachel Laflam

http://rmlaflam.wordpress.com/2010/11/15/more-blog-hits-pleeeease/

November 15, 2010

This was a really beneficial blog post. I feel you in the sense that it sometimes I’m blogging to a big white wall. And maybe sometimes I am. These are great tips to make our blogs more interesting and reader-friendly on continual bases. Don’t worry Rachel! I’m here in the blogger world with you!

Comment:

Oh and btw. I REALLY like the analogy you used with fishing. Very creative and effective.

Personal Profile-Frankie Cunningham- Elaine Bluemling

https://ebluemling.wordpress.com/2010/11/05/personal-profile-frankie-cunningham/#comment-43

November 15, 2010

“Ha, YAY Frankie He’s the man! I really have a lot of respect for him being so involved. I don’t know how it does it all. It was nice to see all you had to say about him. He really seems to have a joy for what he does. Campus life wouldn’t be the same without him!”

Comment:  

Twitter, More Than Just a Status- John Cissel

http://johncissel.wordpress.com/2010/10/07/tow-7-twitter-more-than-just-a-status/

November 10, 2010

Glad to see that you found the true purpose of Twitter. If used correctly it is way more than “just a status”. I feel like there are times that my interaction on Twitter is crazier and busier than that on other social networks like Facebook. I like Twitter because I feel like there is a lot of information out there that is more organized. Twitter is very proactive and interaction can be and should be beneficial and fun. Glad to see that you enjoyed yourself during the one week of Twitter assignment!

 Comment:

Lebron Strikes Back- Amanda Furmage

http://afurmage24.wordpress.com/2010/10/26/lebron-strikes-back/

November 10, 2010

In Lebron’s defense I’m sure there was a lot of pressure put on him during the deciding time. I myself don’t personally understand why he chose to go with the Heat but he did. As far as I am aware he made that choice and he shouldn’t be pushing off that choice onto others. I feel like the video more than anything shows what he’s been through/ what he is going through. I’m not so sure that he is blaming others. I feel like the repetition of “what should I do” just correlates with the big question I’m sure he was asking himself for months.

Comment:  

John Krasinski- David Lapham

http://daverlapham.wordpress.com/2010/10/29/pr-connection-4-john-krasinski/

November 10, 2010

Ha. I love the Office, it is such a great show and probably one of my favorite characters is Jim. Honestly I had no idea before this post that the actor’s name was John Krasinski. (Good to know.) I think that is impressive when actors don’t have a lot of bad publicity and they handle themselves well in public. It just shows that he is a professional and doesn’t need some publicity stunt to draw attention. John really seems talented and it’s good to know that he could probably succeed in a more serious role than that of Jim on the Office. I’m sure we’ll see more of him in the future.

 Comment:

Glee Does Rocky Horror Picture Show- October Neuman

http://octobern.wordpress.com/2010/10/29/glee-does-rocky-horror-picture-show/

November 10, 2010

I’ll agree with you in that I don’t think Glee is appropriate for teenagers. It sets a lot of sexual situations, ideas throughout the episodes. Although I don’t think it is appropriate at times for youth I will say that the show has a lot of Talent. I actually watched this episode as well as a few others and I am blown away by the talent. I just think it’s a shame that they can’t just focus on the theatre genius of the show itself and have to put all that sexual mumbo jumbo in there. I would have to agree, I wouldn’t like my child/teenager watching it.

 Comment:

Chick-fil-A Giveaways- Elaine Bluemling

http://ebluemling.wordpress.com/2010/11/02/chic-fil-a-giveaways/

November 10, 2010

Let me just say that I love Chick-Fil-A. I never really had it until coming to school down here in Florida. When I think of a restaurant that offers support for organizations and coupons I think Chick-Fil-A. They are so good at partnering with schools and helping organizations in raising money. I think it’s cute that you included that little fact in there about you and John. Ha. Nice touch. Way to go Chick-Fil-A. Showing support and bringing people together for life! Anyways who’s hungry? Let’s go use our Chick-Fil-A coupons!

Comment:

I Voted-Andrea Adkins

http://aladkins.wordpress.com/2010/11/04/i-voted/

November 9, 2010

Good for you for voting. It is so important. I know we all say that but do we believe it? Because if you did I feel like more people would be proactive about voting. The statistic that 54% of the next generation is less likely to participate in American elections is insane. Something must be done to make sure we are using out right. Ha. And I feel you on the absentee ballot, I attend school out of state so it takes an extra effort to fill out the paperwork and do an absentee ballot. But it’s worth it!

 Comment:

Religion Culture and Society- Danielle Moceri

http://dcmoceri.wordpress.com/2010/10/23/religion-culture-and-society/

November 9, 2010

Wow I really enjoyed this post. You totally presented journalism and stories in a whole new light to me. I feel like we often put the work of God and the issues of religion in a box a.k.a. the church. This post made me look deeper into issues and the critical interactions of life that make stories worth reporting. I would definitely like to check out this course, expand my interest and my knowledge.

 Comment:

Political Video FLOPS!-Rachel Laflam

http://rmlaflam.wordpress.com/2010/11/03/political-video-flops/

November 9, 2010

Haha. This is probably one of the craziest things I’ve ever seen. I will admit that it’s funny and creative but…not necessarily appropriate for real politics. I mean I think younger voters might like something like this but everyone else…not so much. I’d kind of like to hear the logic of whose idea this was. I did some research and for all of you wondering what happened with Freilich and his campaign, well let’s put it this way, he’s not sitting in the senate. But maybe he can be the next old spice guy?

 Comment:

West vs. Bush- Sam Mooty

http://sammooty.wordpress.com/2010/11/03/west-vs-bush/

November 9, 2010

I agree with Rachel. Kanye West is the king on speaking out on impulse. It really was just a harsh opinion that he put out there in a way, which in my opinion, was not appropriate. I’m sure it was hard for Bush to overcome his view as a racist after that. People need to know the truth but Kanye West’s opinion is not the truth. I mean this was an event to raise support after Hurricane Katrina not a hate on Bush rally. West used his position and status to push his opinion on viewers. I’m sure it planted a seed in everyone’s head.

 Comment:

Gaga 1 Billion!!!- Elijah Gill

http://gilboy629.wordpress.com/2010/10/24/gaga-1-billion/

November 9, 2010

Lady Gaga is a legend. I can totally believe that she is the most watched person on YouTube and one of the most searched people on the Web. There is just something about her that interest people. I will say from what I’ve seen/read she truly is her own person. She stands out, she breaks the rules, she puts herself out there, and people love it! I wonder how long this “Lady Gaga fever” will last. I’ve got a feeling the public will be seeing a lot of her for awhile. But we’ll see.

Comment:

Julian Smith Will Be Execute-Melanie Shoults

http://mshoults.wordpress.com/2010/11/01/julian-smith-will-be-execute/

November 2, 2010

I love this. It is so creative and shows that, in my opinion, he is worth subscribing to. It is different and entertains but also gain subscribers. This “kidnapping” stuff really makes him stand out. After watching the video I think it is pretty obvious that he wasn’t really kidnapped. However, people can be pretty gullible to things in media sometimes. Just look throughout history with things like The War of the World presentation on the radio in 1938 and tons of people were freaking out because they thought aliens were really invading us.

Anyways, good job Julian Smith

Comment:

Dora Drama-Sam Mooty

http://sammooty.wordpress.com/2010/10/12/dora-drama/

October 27, 2010

 This is very interesting stuff. I mean truth be told it makes sense that they would drop her if her voice has changed. I guess I’m just a little confused that with her last recording there wasn’t any problems. I don’t think that it is right that she is being dropped before her contract is over, but at least she is being compensated. It’s show biz kid. That’s often how it works.

Comment:

Are the Tabloids Glamorizing Teen Pregnancy?- October Neuman

http://octobern.wordpress.com/2010/10/06/are-the-tabloids-glamorizing-teen-pregnancy-comm-4333-and-comm-2322/#comment-43

October 27, 2010

Wow. This is a pretty serious subject. I hate to admit it but the pregnancy pacts that followed Jamie Spears are proof that the media affects girl’s views on teen pregnancy. Today passing through the grocery store I saw an OK Magazine with the Maci Bookout story. I didn’t have a chance to read it but I was wondering what is she doing on the cover a magazine? I think (sadly) that there are some girls out there that think getting pregnant could land them on T.V. show. Your right it is a really serious matter and it is important for teens to know the real consequences.

Comment:

Something Unusual and Interesting-New Story Forms- Mandee Winter

http://amandajaidynne.wordpress.com/2010/10/21/new-story-forms/

October 27, 2010

I did this course on NewU too! I really enjoyed it. As a writer it opened different avenues for presentation and story formats. I’ve heard the inverted pyramid taught on several occasions. It was nice to learn of something different. I find the ASFs really interesting and something valuable for bloggers that want to “mix it up” a bit when writing posts on their blog. It is vital to grab the reader’s attention and keep it.

I think it would be beneficial to practice writing different formats like the ASFs presented in this course.

Comment:

PR Connect, Business=Social Networking-John Cissel

http://johncissel.wordpress.com/2010/09/10/1-pr-connection-2/

October 27, 2010

I think it is very important for businesses to focus on the online world for advertising. Social networking has become a source of huge feedback from customers.

John I like how you state your opinion and are straight to the point. I find it hard to believe that there can really be companies out there that are not adapting to social media and networking. Like you said they need to wake up.

I know for me personally I obtain most of my daily life information online. It is important for business to connect and advertise online.  

Comment:  

My PR Professional-Sam Mooty

http://sammooty.wordpress.com/2010/10/25/my-pr-professional/

October 27, 2010

I think it is amazing that Truscott has done so much at a young age. I’ll be turning 21 in the next couple of months and I can’t imagine starting my own magazine! Kudos to her!

Sam I like how you included a photo. It adds a lot to the blog post of the interview.

I liked her tips. I think it hard sometimes for us to take advice/criticism. Being open to technology is definitely important. Everything keeps changing but to be working in media we have to stay on top of it.

Again interesting interview! It was good to hear Truscott’s insight.

Comment # 

Airplane Safety-Lady Gaga Style-Rachel Laflam

http://rmlaflam.wordpress.com/

October 13, 2010

This was awesome! I think it is such a creative idea to keep people’s attention during the safety review part of the flight. I don’t think I’ve paid so much attention to that portion of my flight since the first time I’ve flown. Bottom line is people usually don’t pay attention and at least with presenting the information in this manner people will grasp at least some of the instructions. I think that all airlines should do this. It just goes to show how our attention span has changed and therefore the presentations should be changed. I mean common, isn’t it all about reaching your audience with the message? Great job Cebu Pacific!

Comment #

Dont worry PR majors, we’ll all get jobs!-Sarah Hassani

http://sarahrosehassani.wordpress.com/2010/10/11/dont-worry-pr-majors-well-all-get-jobs/#comment-4

October 12,2010

Well good to know. I really think public relations can do wonders for a company/ idea. (Well I mean, of course I’m a believer in it, it’s my major!!)

Thanks for the info Sarah, it motivates me and makes me want to learn and do even more in the public relations world.

 Just some tips, maybe separate your post into small paragraphs. Seeing the long stream of words was a little intimidating. More people are likely to read if it appears shorter and more broken up. Maybe even bold/ increase font size for information that you think is worthy of “standing out”.

Comment #

A Week of Twitter- Rachel Laflam

http://rmlaflam.wordpress.com/2010/10/04/a-week-of-twitter/

October 9, 2010

Rachel a.k.a. @rmlaflam,

              Love the blog post. First let me say I think it is really well-organized. I like how you offered a link for the “rundown” on the twitter lingo in the beginning and closed with wordplay living life “tweet by tweet” and “will you follow me?” Nicely Done!

            I’ll have to agree with you on every point you made. I think twitter is a great resource for information-from what’s going on with friends to world news.

Ha and thanks again for showing me how to use Twitpic! It has made twitter even more effective and fun.  I still think we should have a twitter party. How fun would that be!?

Comment # 

by Tracy Byrnes

Communication Specialist: A Whole New World- Mikelle Liette

http://relating2thepublic.wordpress.com/

 This reflection was an enjoyable read for me. I can really sense your passion and interest for the PR world. I found the advice from a previous SEU graduate to be very helpful. I need to look into that FRPA stuff. Connections are so important. It seems that in many ways they are the structure of what we can do, who we are, and where we can be. It is important for us as students to start making connections now. Every day is a different day in the PR field? How exciting. Never knowing what to expect, that takes a lot of skills and patience.

September 30, 2010

 Comment

by pshutterbug

Run-on Sentences Can Be Short! – Andrea Adkins

http://aladkins.wordpress.com/2010/09/24/run-on-sentences-can-be-short/#comment-7

September 30, 2010

I’ll be the first to admit it; run-on sentences have always been a struggle for me. They are sloppy, confusing, and no good in the advanced world of writing. I know that run-on sentences can really destroy the point and the meanings of what the writer is trying to get across. I am going to have to spend some time with Grammar girl and work on my sentence structure and effectiveness. Having proper grammatical skills is crucial for all professional writers of any kind. It is hard for possible employers and peers to take a person seriously if they have sloppy sentences, typos, and grammatical errors. (Now that I have gone on a rant about it, I hope I don’t have any.) Ha!

Comment #

Working Mom-Melanie Shoults

http://mshoults.wordpress.com/

September 27, 2010

Wow, nice blog post. Well done and good job with using/linking your sources. I really think the article could be helpful for a lot of stay-at-home moms of the present, as well as the future. A working mom, in my opinion, can be one of the most hectic jobs out there. I think it makes complete sense to pursue a higher education, you never know what life is going to bring your way.

I found the big name companies giving scholarships very interesting, I suppose it falls under their philanthropic contributions.

 Wish you the best of luck for your future and you get that degree girl!

Comment # 

What Was She Thinking?-October Neuman

http://octobern.wordpress.com/2010/09/15/what-was-she-thinking/#comment-3

September 16, 2010

Ah, Lady Gaga in a meat dress; doesn’t really surprise me. In some of her music videos I’ve seen her wearing sunglasses made out of smoking cigarettes, hair curlers out of diet coke cans, etc. But I will admit a meat dress-that’s taking things to the next level. I’m sure we are all wondering-What will she wear next?

Do you think you could post a picture of her in the meat dress? I think it would complete the post and truly satisfy the imaginations of the readers interested.

Does anybody know what animal the meat came from?

Comment #

Gaga “Born This Way”-Sam Mooty

http://sammooty.wordpress.com/2010/09/15/63/#comment-3

September 16, 2010.

Sam,I’ve got to agree with you, Lady Gaga is a marketing master. I thought it was cool the way she announced her new record at the VMAs, but not only that, she gets a tattoo featuring the title the NEXT DAY! There were tons of people watching the VMAs (even the Non-Lady Gaga fans) and they all got a sample of her latest work. I’m not aware of that ever being done before by a musical artist…

Anyways, FYI, wasn’t able to watch the YouTube video posted, might want to check that out. If you can’t have it embedded maybe just post a link.

Comment #

Photo- “2-Leo Reynolds”

10.5 Ways for PR Students to Get the Most out of Twitter-Barbara Nixon

http://publicrelationsmatters.com/2010/06/09/10-5-ways-for-pr-students-to-get-the-most-out-of-twitter/comment-page-1/#comment-22898

September 14, 2010

 Professor Nixon this was great! I had a twitter back in 2008 but shortly got bored with it because I  didn’t know all that it was capable of. This post gave me some guidelines I’m going to apply to make my Twitter more beneficial and professional.  I really want to make my Twitter more interactive and a means of obtaining important information and learning. I like that you said about“Twitter is more than a series of Facebook-type status updates.” I think a lot of students out there use it like that because they don’t know that it is meant to be used for so much more.

Comment #

1-Leo Reynolds

Week Three TOW 4333- Elaine Bluemling

http://ebluemling.wordpress.com/2010/09/09/week-three-tow-4333/#comment-2

September 9th, 2010

           Good to know about the filter for comments. I think it is a nice quality to know what privacy settings are out there. I really liked what you had to say. You might want to do another read through; I found a few grammatical errors, nothing huge. Oh and you might want to use big words like “mundane” less. Some people don’t always know what it means so simple words help to get the point across clearly. Well I don’t want to write a story on your page because I now know you don’t like that. J Keep up the good work, can’t wait to see more.

Leave a Reply

