Gap Redesign Contest

12 Oct

I’m sure many of you  have heard by now that the new GAP logo is a total “bust”-excuse my jargon. If you have no idea what I’m talking about click here.

Anyways, in spite of the new logo it appears that  a “Gap Redesign Contest” has been launched on the ISO50 blog.

If I may I’m going to have to side with millions of others and say…I’m not a fan of the new GAP logo. Not sure what they were aiming for but they missed it, by a long shot.

Contest winners will be given publicity  by ISO50 and some free ISO50 merchandise but  GAP is not directly affiliated with the contest. On the contest page there is an Editor’s note that clearly states “This contest is not for Gap. We are not affiliated with Gap. Gap has nothing to do with this contest”. The contest is about designers getting together and showing that they can come up with a better logo than a billion dollar corporation. Ha, I love it. Businesses want their consumers to speak. Well Gap, they’re speaking…. Well….yelling actually.

Interested in the Gap redesign contest click here for more details. Contest ends tomorrow. I encourage everyone to have a say in the vote.

6 Responses to “Gap Redesign Contest”

  1. sammooty October 12, 2010 at 6:02 pm #

    I think it was dumb that they decided to redesign their logo. The logo they originally had was okay but the new one was just so plain. I do not see where they put any creativity in the logo. In my opinion they knew it would spark up a little bit of controversy. While all company sales are down they knew this would be away to set them apart from the rest. I’m glad they didn’t keep the new logo but we will see where GAP goes next with their advertising.

  2. rmlaflam October 13, 2010 at 12:45 pm #

    Let me just first say that this is a great blog post. I love that you took a different spin on the GAP logo controversy. Not only did you inform readers about the issue, but told about a current contest for redesigning the logo and then encouraged us to take action by voting. As far as the new logo: I think it is horrendous. Did GAP honestly think that people would like the new logo? It might be a good logo for, say, a power company. But not a clothing company. Either way, GAP definitely was able to stir up some buzz and encourage others to get involved. By bashing GAP’s new logo, we may just be fulfilling GAP’s plan all along to stir up PR.

  3. ebluemling October 13, 2010 at 6:57 pm #

    I admire that GAP wanted to redesign their logo. However, according to the disclaimer that GAP had nothing to do with the contest it seems they played it safe. On one hand, it is a way to get the GAP name out there and just maybe a great logo could come out of it. On the other hand, they have no ties if it goes south and yet everyone will still hear about the GAP brand again. On a design level, I am surprised that the logo they chose was really the best one that they could come up with. I think it is good that GAP is sticking with the old logo.

  4. afurmage October 17, 2010 at 9:47 pm #

    I really liked this post. I clicked on the link that you posted to the ISO50 blog and looked at quite a few of the logo ideas. Some of them are very good and should be considered for the new logo, while others just make me laugh. It is crazy to think that over 300 people can create a logo better than the one Gap actually chose. I have to agree with you in that the new Gap logo is terrible. The font is boring and the small blue square has no effect on me as a consumer. Overall, the logo has zero personality. I’m glad Gap listened to their fans and went back to the classic logo.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Blog Comments! « My Ongoing Journey - October 17, 2010

    […] commented on “Gap Redesign Contest” by Kelly […]

  2. Site Stats: Good to Know! « Getting Started - October 26, 2010

    […] see what kind of posts get the most attention. For instance, in my blog the most popular posts are One Week of Twitter and Gap Redesign post. They are interesting concepts and I have grabbed the attention of my […]

Leave a Reply

