Monster Energy at SEU

3 Nov

So yesterday (November 2, 2010), I went to my school’s first home basketball game and was presented with a pleasant surprise. Monster Energy Drink was the sponsor of the game and had representatives handing out free energy drinks. They were giving out their “Nitrous” drinks. I saw students flocking to the stand grabbing free energy drinks, myself included.

I think this was a great PR and advertising choice for Monster. Like most college students I love energy drinks. I was so excited to try the new monster and I loved it. I’ll be honest I probably never would have tried the new Monster drinks if it wasn’t for the handout. Now I can honestly say when I need an energy boost I’ll be looking for the Monster Energy Nitrous. (Lime preferably).

Monster saw what one of its bigger demographics and reached it. I heard lots a kids saying how good the drinks were and the word has been spread. The basketball game was the perfect opportunity to present their new product to hundreds of college students.

Do you think this was a good move by Monster? What other companies should consider having handouts at college student events?

3 Responses to “Monster Energy at SEU”

  1. ebluemling November 3, 2010 at 7:44 pm #

    I definitely think this was a great move on their part. Basketball games at a college campus is a great environment to promote energy drinks. With the atmosphere of the crowd’s energy during the game and then with a winning team that night, Monster definitely set up themselves up for success. I know that being a college student, I am not always sure what brands to buy or what not, but if you are going to give something away and I like it, then that is the brand I will stick with for a long time. Plus, being on a college campus, word spreads so fast amongst the students. Word of mouth alone will market your product, but also when you see tons of students walking around with the same thing it makes you want one as well.

  2. afurmage November 8, 2010 at 5:30 pm #

    I think Monster made a great move by visiting a college campus. Although I wasn’t at the game myself, I’m sure students really were flocking to the stand. Monster definitely knows who their customers are – in this case, caffeine-driven college students. Now that the word is out about this new product, students will be more likely to look for it on the shelves just like you said.
    Right now, companies such as Naked Juice, Starbucks, and Chickfila have partnered with SEU. I think office supply companies, fast food joints, and theme parks such as Disney, Universal, and Busch Gardens would be smart in presenting at our school.

  3. jessicapr November 11, 2010 at 11:17 am #

    Great post! That is really amazing that our school’s basketball team was not only sponsored by Monster Energy Drinks but that Monster actually came out. Just coming to the game would have been a great PR move for Monster, but the fact that they gave out a full size energy drink was an excellent PR move. I think that sponsoring a college event is great. Like you said, college kids love their energy drinks and I’m sure that the next time someone goes to the cafe for a much needed pick me up after a hard study session, Monster’s new energy drink will be at the forefront of their mind. More and more companies should take advantage of this college campus and the student consumers.

Leave a Reply

