Coming Up PR Podcast

9 Nov

T.O.W. 11-2322/ T.O.W. 12-4333

                  Recently I spent some time listening to the Coming Up PR podcast on ITunes. Coming Up PR is a podcast hosted by Mary Attard, Mike Kerr, and Cheryl Brean based out of Canada. According to their blog “Coming Up PR is a podcast designed by three Corporate Communications post-graduate students in Toronto.” Coming Up PR is a bi-weekly show that “identifies and discusses trends in communication.” 

            One podcast I would like to highlight is episode #11. In this Episode Mary, Mike, and Cheryl discuss everything from internship experiences, twitter gadgets, and social media. While listening to the podcast I heard about Twitter Sheep and Klout for the first time. Both are sites connected to Twitter that show who is interested in what and who is having the most influence/interaction on Twitter. I really like Twitter so it was nice to know about two more features that add on to what the site has to offer. I found the Klout score of my teacher, Barbara Nixon, and she had a Klout score of 37. She was also in the 70th percentile. It was pretty cool to see in a somewhat tangible way the amount of influence that different people have on Twitter. It is important to know and helps marketers and communicators figure out who they should have “on their side.” Ha.

            I also enjoyed the discussion and feedback on the use of Social Media by agencies and organizations. I’m very interested in social media and I personally believe that, if used correctly, it can be beneficial for organization. I seem to be hearing more and more that companies, agencies, etc. are hesitant about embracing the social media world. Like one of the hosts said I guess it just “takes time.”

            The podcast closed with some “back to school” advice. I appreciated the comment of “treat it like your job” and “attend networking events” I think both of these statements are great advice for a PR student looking to get involved in the communications/PR industry.

One Response to “Coming Up PR Podcast”

  1. cherylbrean November 10, 2010 at 8:28 pm #

    Thanks for listening, Kelly. I’m glad to hear you found episode 11 interesting! Good luck with your studies and keep on listening!

Leave a Reply

